What's on

​Marco Barotti: The Woodpeckers

Pop-ups across Milton Keynes City Centre

These charming robotic woodpeckers transform invisible signals in real time from wireless technology and mobile communication, into audible and visible acoustic rhythmic beats, tapped out on the City’s urban architecture.

Popping up and flocking unexpectedly in locations stretching from Station Square to centre:mk, The Woodpeckers will create a live soundscape, unique to Milton Keynes, which undergoes constant transformation and variation.

The creator of this ever-evolving composition and sonic adventure is Berlin-based media artist Marco Barotti. 

After music studies at the Siena Jazz Academy, Marco began merging sound with visual art. His work is driven by a desire to invent an artistic language expressed through kinetic sound interventions in natural and urban environments. His installations merge audio technology, consumer objects, and waste into moving sculptures triggered entirely by sound. The primary focus of his work is to create a ‘tech ecosystem’ that plays with resemblances to animals and plants. The resulting artworks serve as a metaphor for the destructive human impact on the planet and aim to make people aware of environmental issues.

Read more: marcobarotti.com

The Woodpeckers will pop up at any time, in a range of locations across Central Milton Keynes... No ticket or booking required.

Dates & Times

  • Saturday 10 Jul 2021

  • Sunday 11 Jul 2021

  • Monday 12 Jul 2021

  • Tuesday 13 Jul 2021

  • Thursday 15 Jul 2021

  • Friday 16 Jul 2021

  • Saturday 17 Jul 2021

  • Sunday 18 Jul 2021

  • Monday 19 Jul 2021

  • Tuesday 20 Jul 2021

  • Wednesday 21 Jul 2021

  • Thursday 22 Jul 2021

  • Friday 23 Jul 2021

  • Saturday 24 Jul 2021

  • Sunday 25 Jul 2021

  • Monday 26 Jul 2021

  • Tuesday 27 Jul 2021

  • Wednesday 28 Jul 2021

  • Thursday 29 Jul 2021

  • Friday 30 Jul 2021